EXECUTIVE BOARD

At a meeting of the Executive Board held on Wednesday, 17 May 2006 at the Municipal Building, Widnes

Present: Councillors McDermott (Chairman), M Hodgkinson, Massey, McInerney, Polhill and Wright

Apologies for Absence: Councillors D. Cargill and Harris

Absence declared on Council business: (none)

Officers present: L. Cairns, P. Baron, G. Cook, I. Leivesley, D. Parr, D. Sutton, D. Terris and J. Tradewell

Also in attendance: Councillors Gerrard, Nelson and Wharton

ITEMS DEALT WITH UNDER POWERS AND DUTIES EXERCISABLE BY THE BOARD

Action

(NB Prior to the meeting the Chairman commented that this was to be the Opposition Leader's last meeting and took the opportunity to thank him for his contribution to the Board's work.)

EXB1 MINUTES

The Minutes of the meeting held on 20th April 2006 were taken as read and signed as a correct record.

EXB2 APPOINTMENT OF LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

RESOLVED: That the Council be recommended to

Chief Executive

- (1) appoint Councillor McDermott as Leader of the Council for the 2006/2007 Municipal Year; and
- (2) appoint Councillor Polhill as Deputy Leader of the Council for the 2006/2007 Municipal Year.

EXB3 APPOINTMENT TO BOARDS, COMMITTEES, APPEALS PANEL AND WORKING PARTY

RESOLVED: That the Council be recommended that | Chief Executive

the Constitution of Membership of the various Boards, Committees, Appeals Panel and Working Party be as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

MINUTES ISSUED: 24th May 2006

CALL IN: 1st June 2006

Any matter decided by the Executive Board may be called in no

later that 1st June 2006

Meeting ended at 2.15 p.m.

APPENDIX

Executive Board (10)

Councillors McDermott (Chairman), D. Cargill, Gerrard, Harris, Massey, McInerney, Nelson, Polhill, Wharton and Wright.

Executive Sub (3)

Councillors Wharton (Chairman), Harris and Nelson.

Executive (Transmodal Implementation) Sub-Board (3)

Councillors Polhill (Chairman), McDermott (or nominee) and Wright.

Corporate Services Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Gilligan (Chairman), Lowe (Vice Chair), Blackmore, Dennett, Edge, C. Inch, Loftus, Nolan, Norddahl and Wainwright. (1 Conservative vacancy)

Healthy Halton Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors E. Cargill (Chairman), Loftus (Vice Chair), S Blackmore, Fraser, M. Hodgkinson, Horabin, D Inch, Jones, Lloyd-Jones and Wallace.

(1 Conservative vacancy)

Urban Renewal Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Hignett (Chairman), Leadbetter (Vice Chair), E. Cargill, Morley, Nolan, Rowe, Sly, Thompson, Wallace and Worrall. (1 Conservative vacancy)

Employment, Learning and Skills Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Jones (Chairman), Fraser (Vice Chair), E. Cargill, Edge, M. Hodgkinson, Nolan, Parker, M Ratcliffe and Stockton. (2 Conservative vacancies)

Children and Young People Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Dennett (Chairman), Horabin (Vice Chairman), Fraser, Gilligan, Higginson, Marlow, Parker, Philbin, M. Ratcliffe and Stockton.

(1 Conservative vacancy)

Safer Halton Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Osborne (Chairman), Stockton (Vice Chair), Edge, Lloyd-Jones, Morley, E. Ratcliffe, Redhead, Thompson and Wallace. (2 Conservative vacancies)

Development Control Committee (11)

Councillors Nolan (Chairman), Thompson (Vice Chairman), Blackmore, Hignett, Leadbetter, Morley, Osborne, Polhill and Sly. (2 Conservative vacancies)

Business Efficiency Board (11)

Councillors Cole (Chairman), Lloyd-Jones (Vice Chair), Dennett, Hignett, C. Inch, Lowe, Osborne, Philbin and Rowe. (2 Conservative vacancies)

Standards Committee (8)

Mr. J. Collins (Chairman), Parish Councillor Crawford, Mr A Luxton, and Councillors Parker, Pearsall, Redhead and Wharton. (1 Conservative vacancy)

Appeals Panel (20)

Councillors Wainwright (Chairman), Parker (Vice Chairman), Cole, Edge, Fraser, Gerrard, Higginson, M. Hodgkinson, Horabin, Jones, Leadbetter, Loftus, Marlow, Pearsall, M Ratcliffe, Redhead and Worrall.

(3 Conservative vacancies)

Regulatory Committee (11)

Councillors Philbin (Chairman), Pearsall (Vice-Chairman), Cole, Gilligan, D Inch, Lowe, Nelson, E. Ratcliffe and Wainwright. (2 Conservative vacancies)

Local Development Framework Working Party (15)

Councillors Polhill (Chairman), Harris, Hignett, M Hodgkinson, C Inch, Massey, McDermott, McInerney, Nolan, Parker, Pearsall, Wainwright, Whittaker, Wright and Labour vacancy.

Scrutiny Co-Ordinator

Councillor Higginson